2017 Volleyball Manitoba Annual Awards & Hall of Fame Banquet

Posted on by admin

The 2017 Volleyball Manitoba Awards & Hall of Fame Banquet was held last night, Sunday, June 11th, at the Canad Inns Destination Centre Polo Park, a celebration recognizing some of our outstanding athletes, coaches, volunteers and officials.

At the banquet Volleyball Manitoba recognized all Provincial Champions from this past year, All-Stars & MVP’s, National Medalists, the Age Class Players of the Year from each age category as well as the Cheryl Cable, Mark Tennant, Wezer Bridle Golden Whistle and Mary Jean England Coach Awards, among others.

The evening was capped off with the Volleyball Manitoba Hall of Fame inductions, details which can be found here.

Major award winners for 2016-17 were as follows:

2017 Volleyball Manitoba Age Class Players of the Year:

15U Girls Player of the Year         Erika Andjelic – Dynamo 15U Red

15U Boys Player of the Year        Liam Kindle – BVC 15U Gold

16U Girls Player of the Year         Anna Maidment – Jr Bison 16U Gold

16U Boys Player of the Year        Ethan Harder – WinMan Warriors

17U Girls Player of the Year         Jayda Nault – Jr Bisons

17U Boys Player of the Year        Nigel Nielsen – WinMan Clutch

18U Girls Player of the Year         Laura Hill – Cobras Volleyball Club

18U Boys Player of the Year        Darian Picklyk – 204

Mark Tennant and Cheryl Cable Awards for the Junior (20U) Players of the Year:

Cheryl Cable Memorial Award Winner – Kearley Abbott, University of Manitoba

Mark Tennant Award Winner – Eric Loeppky, Trinity Western University Spartans

Mary Jean England Awards – Elite and Developmental Coach of the Year:

Developmental Coach of the Year – Bruce Boroski of the Shock 14U and Shock 13U Girls

Elite Coach of the Year – Lindsey Habib of the WinMan Clutch 17U Boys

Wezer Bridle Golden Whistle Award – Referee of the Year

William Stevenson

Volleyball Manitoba Volunteers of the Year:

Kyle Guenther & Scott Masterson – Jr Pilots Volleyball Club, Providence College

Nikki Redekop Memorial Scholarship Recipients:

Kelsey Jordan – Brandon, MB (Vincent Massey High School, 18U Cobras Volleyball Team)

Taylor Boughton – Oak Bank, MB (St Mary’s Academy, 18U Jr Wesmen)

Canad Inns Team of the Year:

Jr. Bison 16U Gold

Sponsors & Partners